Back in January, I wrote a post about a raving christian loony site that really had a chip on its shoulder about goths and the goth subculture. After meeting up with some of the South London Danger Squad on Thursday (prior to heading down to Brixton Academy to mingle with goths, rockers, emos and students at a dangerous, soul-corrupting and hated-by-God Nine Inch Nails gig), this site came up in conversation again and I thought I’d check up to see whether it was any less “under construction” than it had been a couple of months ago.

It turns out there have been several updates, not least of which is a list of dangerous bands and artists that should be avoided at all costs for fear of eternal damnation. Surprisingly and much to much to my disappointment, NIN weren’t on this list.

However, one of the other updates to the site was the inclusion of a small print disclaimer at the bottom of the page which read:

DISCLAIMER : The Godhatesgoths website, Parents Against Goth Movement and Gods Hammer Baptist Church are complete works of fiction. It is a satire/parody. When you use godhatesgoths.com you are agreeing and consenting to our terms and conditions of use which we, at our sole discretion, may change in any way at any time. Furthermore we do not guarantee that any of the materials or articles or content on this site will contain no errors, nor that they will be accurate in the slightest. Nor do we state that we agree in anyway with any of the content or views or beliefs within these articles, or with the fictional views of the fictional character Rev RG Green, or any of his fictional followers or fictional members of his fictional Church. This site is meant to be viewed as black humor, parody and satire on very real people and organisations out there, who DO think goth and metal is the devil’s music. For more information on people who really are speaking out against rock and goth music please view our resources section. For our complete terms and conditions please email us, and we will be pleased to supply them in full. Thank you and i hope you enjoy our site.

So, after all that, it’s not real. This actually doesn’t come as any surprise because as well put together as it is, it’s the poor grammar, syntax and spelling that made me wonder if the Rev RG Green was actually all he claimed to be. But I hold my hands up - I got fooled good and proper. Congratulations guys.

It’s a shame that they feel the need to add the disclaimer on though. They should hide it again and perpetuate the hoax as it could become a very well known and popular site with a little work. Think Borat - take it as far as possible and when you think you’ve reached the limit, take it further.