Another Version of the Truth
While deleting spam this morning, I noticed one of the emails had not been picked up by spam filter and been appropriately tagged. This happens from time to time but the curious thing about this email was the subject line which, curiously, was both spelled and punctuated correctly. It simply read
“YOU HAVE BEEN IDENTIFIED AS UN-AMERICAN”
“Well done,” I thought to myself. “Am I bovvered?” I thought secondly.
The email had been sent by “Bureau of Morality - Year 0000 Search”. After checking to make sure my virus scanner was running, I risked opening the email. I’m a sucker for correctly spelled and curiously titled spam emails. Every now and then there are some nuggets although mostly they are the usual men’s aids and share schemes. I wondered what this was trying to sell me.
“ATTENTION!” it proclaimed. “The Bureau of Morality has identified you as A CONSUMER OF DISSIDENT MATERIAL.”
“Cool!” I thought. I read on.
This is a one time warning. Any further attempts to view, consume, or distribute un-american content will result in the loss of citizenship increments and/or the imposition of fines, penalties, or imprisonment.
You have choices. Make the RIGHT ones.
For further information on making good choices, visit http://www.thepriceoftreason.net
——————–
Bureau of Morality
One Nation Under God
I mused on the contents of the email, wondering where it came from. It’s obviously not real. Or is it that obvious? Was it someone I know having a bored moment? If so, it’s very imaginative. It is it the start of Perplexcity series 2? Unlikely seeing as series 1 only just finished. Or is it just very creative spam. Perhaps it’s actually from some fervent right wing Yank, sending me harassing emails. Amber Night perhaps? There are a lot of links listed in the spoof trace pattern at the top. Do I dare click on them? If I’d had my third cup of caffiene flavoured neural-stimulant then perhaps I would have focussed (fuckarsed?) on the url titles but there were too many letters, too many words. There must be a clue in there somewhere.
Google Search: Bureau of Morality.
The fishscales fall from my eyes. Revelation and understanding. I want to believe. I am trying to believe. After all, this is just another version of the truth.
“Cool!” I thought again. “Shame I didn’t spot the clue.“

LOL! Yes, it was me. And I’m sad to see that you chose to ignore my warning. So I’m hereby revoking your American citizenship. I’m sorry but you left me no choice. Please turn your American passport in to the nearest embassy. And tell all your other British terrorist friends that I’ll take their American citizenships too! Oh yes I will!
Comment by Amber — March 27, 2007 @ 10:07 pm
I just got one a day or so ago. I was rather shocked by it actually though I did dare to go to the links that it offered. The one I mainly went to was www.artisresistance.com and that was because something kept popping up, telling me to stop. I wish I knew the reason for these e-mails being sent out.
Comment by Patricia — March 28, 2007 @ 2:43 am
Just out of curiosity… do you happen to be a Nine Inch Nails fan? or a frequent visitor to the NIN site?
I think this has more to do with some massive ad campaign involving the release of Year Zero next month…
Go ahead and google… there is alot if random crap like that happening… plz let me know, because each one of these is supposedly a clue…
Comment by Nick — March 28, 2007 @ 7:50 am
Hi guys!
Yes, this is all to do with Year Zero (and yes, big NIN fan and member of the spiral which is why I think I’m getting these). One of the clues is in the Survivalism video that was shown on MTV where some scenes have been “censored” by the Bureau of Morality.
More information here: http://yearzero.netninja.com/notes/trail.html
Comment by Dragon — March 28, 2007 @ 9:34 am
Some people really need to get out more, don’t they…
Comment by Lyle — March 28, 2007 @ 11:57 am